Click on CONTACTS to communicate with the Mayor, City Council, or Administration.

Mayor Richard Stone was elected to his first term as Mayor of the City of Winnemucca in 2018. The Mayor is the official head of the City and is elected for a four (4) year term. The Mayor presides at all meetings of the Council and votes only in the case of a tie in ordinances, resolutions and other Council actions. The Mayor has veto power over the Council’s votes but can be overridden by a 4/5 Council vote.

The City Council is the governing body of the City of Winnemucca and exercises a broad range of powers over City affairs and property. There are five (5) Council offices with office holders elected by the electors of the City at large to serve staggered four (4) year terms. City Council Seats 2 and 4, and the Mayor are next up for election in the 2022 general election; City Council Seats 1, 3, and 5 are next up for election in the 2024 general election.  A majority of all members of the Council (3) constitute a quorum to do City business.

  • Seat 1, Councilmember Mike Owens, service began in 2012, office open for election in 2024
  • Seat 2, Councilmember Theresa Mavity, service began in 2014, office open for election in 2022
  • Seat 3, Councilmember Vince Mendiola, service began in 2016, office open for election in 2024
  • Seat 4, Councilmember Ashley Maden, service began in 2022, office open for election in 2026
  • Seat 5, Councilmember Pam Coats, service began in 2020, office open for election in 2024

City Manager Alicia Heiser has been City Manager since January 2, 2018. The City Manager is the administrative head of the City government. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council for an indefinite term to supervise the administrative affairs of the City and to carry out policies set by the Council. Alicia possesses a professional engineering license and also assumes the duties of the City Engineer. For more information from the City Manager’s office, click HERE.

City Attorney Kent Maher has been advising the Council since October 1, 1989. The City Attorney is the legal adviser of the Mayor, City Council and all officers and departments of the City in all matters respecting the affairs of the City and performs such duties as may be required by the City Council or prescribed by ordinance. The City Attorney is appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council. Kent advises on a wide range of legal, procedural and personnel matters affecting the City and formulates ordinances and resolutions according to state and local laws. The District Attorney’s office, acting as the City Prosecutor, provides City criminal prosecution services.

City Clerk Ruth Fitzpatrick has been the City Clerk/Treasurer since September 7, 2021. The Clerk/Treasurer is appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the City Council. The Clerk/Treasurer is responsible for maintaining all of the Council records and proceedings, and the for maintaining financial records, budgeting and audits for the City. For more information on the City Clerk/Treasurer’s office, click HERE.